Staff and Contributors

Current Staff

Jeff Hermes (Director): Jeff is the Director of the Digital Media Law Project at Harvard University's Berkman Center for Internet & Society. Jeff joined the DMLP as its Assistant Director in April 2011, and continued in that role until October 2011, when he succeeded founding director David Ardia.

Prior to joining the Berkman Center, Jeff assisted a wide array of clients in First Amendment, media, intellectual property and Internet law issues as a partner in the litigation practice of Brown Rudnick LLP and later as counsel to Hermes, Netburn, O'Connor & Spearing, P.C. in Boston. Over the last fourteen years, Jeff has represented an international media network and its subsidiaries, major metropolitan newspapers, local broadcasters on television and radio, Internet-based publishers and social media networks. He has written for numerous publications and spoken at a wide array of events on media law and other issues.

In February 2012, Jeff was invited by the European Commission and Hague Conference on Private International Law as a delegate to the Joint Conference on Access to Foreign Law in Civil and Commercial Matters. Jeff was invited to comment on the proceedings of the Conference based upon his experience in providing legal resources to a broad community and his familiarity with the role of access to law in an open society.

Jeff received his J.D. degree from Harvard Law School in 1997, and received his undergraduate degree, summa cum laude, from Princeton University in 1994.

Andy Sellars (Assistant Director):  Andy is the Corydon B. Dunham First Amendment Fellow at the Berkman Center. Andy received his J.D. with high honors from the George Washington University Law School, where he was awarded the Peter D. Rosenberg Award for Patent and Intellectual Property Law. He also received the 2011 Jan Jancin Award for excellence in the study of intellectual property issues.  As a student Andy worked as a summer intern at Berkman's Cyberlaw Clinic, advising clients on a wide variety of copyright, media law, and online publication matters.  Prior to law school, Andy worked in the music industry, including for the festival production and promotion company Great Northeast Productions and as assistant tour manager and stage manager for the band moe. He received his undergraduate degree in music, summa cum laude, from Northeastern University in 2008, where he interned at the Volunteer Lawyers for the Arts of Massachusetts (now part of the Arts & Business Council of Greater Boston).

Affiliate Scholars

Eric P. Robinson: Eric is co-director of the Program in Press, Law and Democracy at the Manship School of Mass Communication at Louisiana State University. He has taught media law and ethics at the CUNY Graduate School of Journalism, Baruch College and the University of Nevada, Reno, where he was Deputy Director of the Donald W. Reynolds Center for Courts and Media. He is also Of Counsel to the First Amendment law practice of the Counts Law Group, and has been a  staff attorney at the Media Law Resource Center and a legal fellow at the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press. In addition to his posts for the DMLP, he has written articles for various professional and academic journals and publications, including the forthcoming Key Issues in Mass Media Ethics & Law (2015), and maintains his own blog at For more information, visit

Past Contributors

We are grateful for the contributions the following individuals have made to the DMLP:
David Ardia, DMLP Founder
Sharo Atmeh
Julie Babayan
Lee Baker
Sam Bayard
Kristin Bergman
Reed Bienvenu
Rebekah Bradway
Arthur Bright
Jillian Button
Lauren Campbell
Tom Casazzone
Tuna Chatterjee
L.T. Ciaccio
Jason Crow
Alexandra Davies
Jim Ernstmeyer
Vanessa Fazio
Courtney French
Helen Fu
Kelly Hoffman
Marshall Hogan
Kimberley Isbell
Olivia Jennings
Kyle Junik
Dan Kahn
Ryan Kane
Jane Kleiner
Erika Kweon
Frances Katz
Tim Lamoureux
Jason Liss
Matt Lovell
Phil Malone
Katie Mapes
Ryan McGrady
Tabitha Messick
Natalie Nicol
Daniel Ostrach
Marc Pennington
Marina Petrova
Rich Quincy
Colin Rhinesmith
Amanda Rice
Caity Ross
David Russcol
Matt C. Sanchez
Alison Schary
Samantha Scheller
Natalie Senst
John Sharkey
Justin Silverman
Brittany Griffin Smith
Aaron Sokoloff
Lina Somait
Jillian Stonecipher
Konstantinos Stylianou
Tom Sullivan
Yixin Tang
Daniel Ungar
Caitlin Vogus
Miriam Weiler
Stefani Wittenauer

Want to help?

The DMLP is interested in help from individuals with a legal or journalism background. We offer paid and unpaid internships, as well as other opportunities. Lawyers, journalists, and law students of all levels are especially encouraged to apply.

Applicants should have a demonstrated interest in and enthusiasm for journalism, citizen media or technology-related legal issues, along with excellent research and writing skills and the initiative and energy to see projects to completion in a fast-moving environment.

For more information, please visit our Work with the DMLP page.